Unused Accounts Piling Up? Right here’s Easy methods to Delete a Consumer on a Mac

If you have an account on your Mac that is no longer in use and taking up valuable storage space, you can remove it in a few simple steps. Our guide will walk you through everything you need to do to quickly and easily delete a user on Mac.

There are many more changes you can make to your Mac user accounts. If you're looking to change your username or manage Mac use of an account with Screen Time, you've come to the right place.

These steps are compatible with MacOS Big Sur.

Step 1: Make sure you have administrator access

Administrator access is required to delete a user on a Mac. You must be logged in to the administrator account and know the administrator username and password to delete a user. You also need to make sure that you are not signed in to the account that you want to delete. If you want to delete an administrator account, you need to create another administrator account and log in with that account first.

Step 2: Enter the administrator password in the system settings

How to delete a user on Mac

Now click on the Apple icon in the top left corner of your screen and then click on "System Preferences"> "Users and Groups".

Once in the Users and Groups section, click the padlock in the lower left corner and enter the administrator username and password. This prevents unauthorized changes to user accounts from being made.

Step 3: Remove the unwanted account

How to delete a user on Mac

To remove the unwanted account, just click on the account name in the user list, then click the minus sign at the bottom of the window. You have a few options that we'll get into below.

  • Save the home folder to a disk image: If you want to restore the user account later, you can select this option. It archives all of the user's documents and information to pick them up where they left off when they regain access to their account. The disk image of your files is saved in / Users / Deleted Users /.
  • Do not change the home folder: This will remove the user account from the login screen but will keep most of the other things. Your home folder will remain in / Users / and you can restore your account later if you want.
  • Delete the home folder: This will completely remove the user's home folder as well as all of their information and documents, freeing up the space they were consuming. If you want to restore your account, you'll need to set it up again from scratch.

When you have made your choice, click Done.

Step 4: remove the guest user option

How to delete a user on Mac

The guest user account allows someone to access the main functions of your Mac without affecting your specific settings. You'll need to sign out of your primary account in order to give someone guest access. Eliminate this option to prevent anyone else from having access to your computer in the first place.

Editor's recommendations




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *