The best way to Delete Messages in Fb Messenger

Facebook Messenger is one of the most popular features on the social media platform. While it's a great way for users to have private conversations, it's also used by many to start a fight or say things that don't really mean. It's not uncommon for you to make a mistake in Messenger or to immediately regret sending a message.

Before, when these errors happened, we just had to leave them there, kept forever on Facebook Messenger. This is no longer the case.

further reading

You can also archive and delete entire threads that you no longer want to view. Deleting Facebook messages on your desktop or mobile device only takes a few seconds. However, deleting entire threads only applies to your own inbox, not your friend's. This is how it works:

Delete messages on your desktop

Step 1: Log in to Facebook as usual.

Step 2: In the top right, click the chat bubble followed by See All in Messenger. The latter option is in the lower left.

Screenshot

Step 3: To delete an entire thread of messages, hover over the conversation and click the three horizontal dots icon to the right of the message in your inbox. Then select Delete from the menu that appears.

Screenshot

Step 4: You then have three options: cancel, delete or hide the conversation. Click Erase to continue.

Step 5: To delete part of your conversation, click in the conversation and hover over the message you want to delete. Then click on the three horizontal dots and click Remove.

Screenshot

Step 6: If it has been less than 10 minutes since you sent the message, you have the option to remove the message for everyone or just yourself. When you have made your selections, click Remove.

The person on the other end of the conversation can see that you removed a message if you chose For All, but the content is no longer available. If it took longer than 10 minutes, you can only remove the message for yourself.

Delete messages on your mobile device

Step 1: If you haven't already, download the Messenger app for both iOS or Androidand log in as usual.

Step 2: If you want to delete an entire conversation, press and hold the conversation, or if you're an iOS user, swipe left on the conversation and select the option Red trash can. We know it is easy to do this by mistake. So if you lose something of value, don't worry. Your phone will always ask you to confirm before deleting. This applies to both Android and iOS.

Screenshot

Step 3: To delete a single message, enter the conversation, press and hold the message you want to delete, and tap Remove below. Then choose Remove for you. If you have an Android you need to choose Remove again to confirm. iOS users will not see this final prompt. So make sure you want to choose Remove for you.

Screenshot

You can remove the message for everyone if you take action within 10 minutes of sending it. Your phone gives you the choice to remove for everyone or just for yourself. Once you have made your selections, press Remove. While the intended recipient can see that you removed a message if you selected For All, they cannot see the contents of the message. If it took longer than 10 minutes, you can remove the text just for yourself.

Editor's recommendations




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *